Seven Sacraments

In this post, we enumerate the Seven Sacraments, as taught by the Catechism of the Catholic Church.  We quote the CCC on the official definition of ‘sacraments’:

‘ The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us.’

The Seven Sacraments parallel and touch the major stages of the Christian life.  They can be grouped into three classes: the Sacraments of Christian Initiation, the Sacraments of Healing, and the Sacraments at the Service of Communion.


Seven Sacraments First Group: The Sacraments of Christian Initiation


The Sacraments in the first group are said to lay the foundations of the Christian life.  Below, we list these three sacraments.


Sacrament of Baptism:

Baptism is officially defined as ‘Baptism is the sacrament of regeneration through water and in the word.’  Through the sacrament of baptism, we are freed from original sin and are reborn.

Some Bible verses concerning baptism:


1 Corinthians 12:13

For in one Spirit we were all baptized into one body, whether Jews or Greeks, slaves or free persons, and we were all given to drink of one Spirit.


Acts 1:5

for John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the holy Spirit.


Matthew 28:19

Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.


Sacrament of Confirmation

The sacrament of confirmation is a necessary sacrament for the completion of baptismal grace.  Through this sacrament, Christians are believed to be enriched with a special strength of the Holy Spirit.

Some bible verses about Confirmation:


Matthew 3: 16 – 17

After Jesus was baptized, he came up from the water and behold, the heavens were opened [for him], and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove [and] coming upon him.
And a voice came from the heavens, saying, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.”


We would like to end this post for now.  In the next post, we discuss the rest of the Seven Sacraments.